Soy Glazed Chicken & Onions

April 30, 2011 § Leave a comment

E: Phew! I finally have a moment to breathe, and by breathe I mean write a post . . . so it has come to this.

I’ve been really bad at documenting stuff I’ve made lately because I’ve been so busy. However, I wanted something that would be easy and low-maintenance, and that would give me something I could legitimately photograph despite that. I’m on the lookout right now for tasty Chinese dishes, and I’m planning on trying to recreate some of my restaurant favorites once I have a bit more time on my hands. But for the moment, I settled on trying this dish from Crepes of Wrath that I’ve been eying for a while. It is quite similar to things that I’ve made on the stovetop before, but being that it was baked it meant less labor for me, so I decided to go for it.

looks tasty, right?

It turned out to be easy and quite tasty. Something was definitely not right about the onions the next day though:  sitting in the sauce over night got them to be oppressively strong in flavor. The chicken, however, was perfect and remained so. I don’t know what I would do next time, maybe fish out the onions and store them separately; or you could cook them separately.

The only other changes I’d make would be to to use some fresh garlic and ginger to flavor the sauce. It wouldn’t be totally smooth then, but I think fresh garlic especially would cut a little of the bitterness I often associate with powdered garlic.

So, I present sweet soy glazed chicken and onions:

6 chicken fillets, cut into bite sized pieces
1 1/2 sweet onions, sliced thinly
2 tbsp flour (cornstarch may produce better results, but flour worked fine for me)
3 tbsp water
2/3 c. soy sauce
1/2 c. sugar
1/4 c. cider vinegar
1/4 c. sherry
1 tsp garlic powder
1 tsp ground ginger
1/2 tsp fresh ground black pepper

So that’s a lot of ingredients, but I promise this is easy! Start your oven preheated to 425F. Line two 9×13 baking pans with foil. I used a cookie sheet and a 9-inch pie pan, since I am woefully short on baking pans, and it worked reasonably well, but the cookie sheet was a bit shallow and the pie pan a bit cramped.

onions!

Slice up the onions and cut up the chicken, and lay the pieces out in your baking pans so that everything is as flat as possible.

I started with the chicken and fit the onions around it

Now we embark on the sauce. In a medium-sized sauce pan, preferably not-nonstick as you’ll be whisking things, combine the flour and water and whisk until smooth. You’ll get a sort of paste. If it doesn’t all come together, add a little more water until it does.

you could make glue . . . or sauce

Then add the rest of the ingredients, and whisk until everything is combined. A word of warning for those also using powdered spices:  powdered garlic has an annoying tendency to clump, so make sure you break those up before you put the powder in the mixture. Mine had annoying lumps of garlic powder in it, though I couldn’t find them after everything was baked.

Anyway, heat up the sauce to a simmer, and allow it to cook until it has thickened. This should take about 8 minutes, but you don’t want to overcook it or burn it, so keep stirring and watch it pretty carefully.

that garlic powder was bent on annoying me

Once the sauce is done, pour it over the pans of chicken and onions, making sure everything gets covered. I wasn’t able to do that, so I sort of mixed things around to coat everything, and then repeated that process a few times through the cooking.

make sure to stir this around a bit

So put the dishes in the oven, and bake for 25 to 30 minutes or until the chicken is fully cooked. Every 8 minutes or so, take them out and stir the contents around if everything isn’t covered in the sauce. That will keep things from burning or drying out.

Once everything is done, take the baking dishes out of the oven, let everything cool for a minute or two, and then serve. I served mine with rice and broccoli, but you can pick pretty much whatever you want.

this was great with broccoli

The amounts I used would serve about 6. Enjoy!

Tagged: , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Soy Glazed Chicken & Onions at Nombudsman.

meta

