Almond Burgers

March 1, 2011 § Leave a comment

E: I’ve eaten veggie burgers of various types for a long time. But most of them have been from the frozen foods aisle. And there was a really sad era for a lot of burgeoning veggie-foods, which to my memory was around when I was 6 or 8. If you were looking for veggie burgers, or tofu dogs (or even chicken or turkey dogs for that matter), they could only be found in places like Bread & Circus (now part of Whole Foods Market), and you were supremely lucky if you could ones that didn’t taste like chalk, sawdust, or cardboard. Even my mother, who has been the heath-food guru of our family and has been known to eat some pretty tasteless things, corroborates my assessment of them.

How they managed to consistently be that awful I cannot imagine, but the situation has slowly improved to the point where you can find decent frozen veggie burgers even in the big supermarket chains. But after making these, I’ll admit to wanting the cardboard-eating days of my life back. No more, say I! Until Joanna first made the “mac ‘n’ cheese burgers” for me about a year ago, I hadn’t even considered making my own veggie patties. But turns out they are dead easy! And they taste a lot better than the frozen kind.

and to think I used to dislike almonds

This recipe is taken from the presently-defunct Delicious Wisdom. Rest its 404-Not-Found soul.

Makes 5-6 patties.

1 1/2 cups almonds, ground (I used toasted, unsalted I believe)
1 cup oats (or whole grain breadcrumbs)
1 egg
1/3 cup onions, finely chopped
1 cup milk (try 3/4 cup to start, then add more if you need it; the oats don’t absorb liquid like breadcrumbs might)
2 tbsp fresh parsley, chopped
2 cloves garlic, minced
1 tsp salt

Start your oven preheating to 350. While that is going on, chop up the garlic, parsley, and onion.

don't worry I didn't use the whole onion without telling you

Using a food processor (or some other method if you have it, but I found a food processor to be most effective) grind up the almonds. They don’t have to be tiny, but I wouldn’t want anything bigger than about 1/4 of an almond. Toss the oats in too and give them a spin.

this is the final consistency I used

Now, put the almonds, oats, onion, salt, garlic, egg, parsley, and milk (in other words, everything) into a bowl.

pretty much anything can be a veggie burger once you add an egg

Mix everything up, making sure the egg gets fully spread around.

it is a bit wet

You’ll notice this looks a bit wet. That is all the milk. I used a full cup, and I revised the recipe to an amount that I think better suits the oats, which don’t absorb any liquid really. I ended up throwing in about 1/2 cup of oat flour to thicken mine up.

Form the batter(?) into five or six patties (I made six and they were still pretty huge), and place them onto a greased baking sheet.

there were 6, and even these were huge

Bake for 15 minutes, then flip and bake for another 15. They should end up looking something like the following, when flipped back over. Note the weird, thin edges caused by the milk not staying incorporated.

these smell delicious . . almost like an almond dessert

Serve however you normally serve veggie burgers. I used tomato, avocado, guacamole and sriracha. They were really excellent . . . and in no way similar to cardboard. How hard is that, eh?

these were much larger than frozen burgers too

Tagged: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Almond Burgers at Nombudsman.

meta

