Ginger Lime Cookies

February 25, 2011 § Leave a comment

J:  I made these cookies for Erik for Valentine’s Day, modifying a recipe I found for lemon ginger cookies because I thought using lime would be more exciting.  Now, my expectation was that I’d like these but wouldn’t go crazy over them for a few reasons: I am a chocolate fiend and these have no chocolate in them; I am not a huge fan of crystallized ginger; and I can only handle so much citrus at once.  I was so wrong.  I bit into one and realized that in an instant these had gone from the ultimate underdogs to my second-favorite no-chocolate-involved cookies of all time (first place going to these, of course).  These cookies are just sweet enough, smooth and buttery, melt-in-your-mouth, with lovely notes of lime underscoring it all — and the little nuggets of ginger shine through beautifully, almost like panning for gold in each bite.

buttery, citrusy, gingery

Note: I halved the original recipe but as I was going along decided that the halved amounts of lime zest, lime juice, and crystallized ginger were just not cutting it, so I threw in some more, reaching approximately the amounts that I’ve included in the recipe.  If you’re worried that certain ingredients may be too strong or overpowering, start off with zest from 1 lime, 1 1/2 tsp lime juice, and 1/4 c ginger, and increase the amounts (or not!) according to your own taste.

Ginger Lime Cookies
(adapted from recipe here)
1 c unsalted butter, softened
1/2 c sugar
Lime zest from about 1 1/2 limes
1 tbsp lime juice
1/2 tbsp vanilla
2 c flour
1/4 tsp salt
1/3 c crystallized ginger, roughly chopped

Start off, of course, by zesting and juicing your limes and chopping your ginger.  Set all that aside.

those limes never knew what hit 'em

In a large bowl, cream together the butter and sugar until reasonably smooth.  Add in the lime zest and juice, as well as the vanilla (see note before the recipe: start off with a little less zest and juice than is called for if you’re worried about overpowering amounts of lime-ness).

splashes of flavor and color

When those are thoroughly mixed in, add the flour and salt, and combine well.  It’ll be a somewhat dry, crumbly, buttery dough.

the dough was delicious but even that didn't prepare me for how awesome the cookies were

Stir in the chopped ginger until it’s reasonably well-distributed in the dough.  Then lay out a sheet of plastic wrap and form the dough into a log — it’ll be pretty long (I think mine may have been close to 1.5 feet long), so you can form it into two shorter logs if it’s more convenient.  Wrap the dough in the plastic wrap and refrigerate it for a few hours.

When you’re ready to bake, preheat the oven to 325.  Take the dough out of the fridge (and un-plastic-wrap it), and slice it into thin wafers, about 1/4 of an inch thick.

when it looks this pretty, you just know it's going to taste good

Place the wafers on a baking sheet; if you’re using nonstick, you don’t need to prep it in any way, but if you’re using a regular sheet, greasing it very lightly wouldn’t go amiss.  I needed two sheets to fit all my cookies!

like an army, full of tasty edible buttery soldiers

They will spread some, so you don’t want to put them super-close together, but the spacing you see here worked just fine for me.  I didn’t have any cookies running into each other.

Bake the cookies for about 20 minutes.  Serve when cooled, preferably with a piping hot beverage.

perfect for tea parties

Tagged: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Ginger Lime Cookies at Nombudsman.

meta

