Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies

November 19, 2010 § 1 Comment

Just to warn you, I am nowhere near done my annual pumpkin binge.  This is the second awesome pumpkin recipe I have for you, and there are more to come!

A note about these cookies.  First, they are super easy.  You have no excuse not to make them!  Second, I decided that it could be awesome to add some peanut butter to them, so I split the batch in half and added a tablespoon or two to one half of the dough.  I thought they came out pretty well, and I thought I could taste the difference, though it was pretty subtle.  I also thought the peanut butter added a bit of a richness to the cookies that wasn’t there in the originals.  If you want a stronger flavor, I would suggest maybe 2.5 – 3 tbsp of peanut butter if you’re adding it to only half of the dough, and maybe 4 or 5 if you want to add it to the entire batch (though you really should make some without, both for comparison purposes and because the original was pretty awesome without peanut butter too!).

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies
(original recipe here)
1 c canned pumpkin
1 c sugar
1/2 c vegetable oil
1 egg
2 c all-purpose flour
2 tsp baking powder
2 tsp ground cinnamon
1/2 tsp salt
1 tsp baking soda
1 tsp milk
1 tbsp vanilla extract
2 c semisweet chocolate chips

Okay, here we go.  Preheat your oven to 350.

Combine the pumpkin, sugar, vegetable oil, and egg in a large bowl.

I ALREADY WANT TO EAT ALL OF IT

Mix together the flour, baking powder, cinnamon, and salt in another bowl; dissolve the baking soda in the milk, and add that in as well.  Stir the flour mixture into the pumpkin deliciousness.

it just gets better

Stir in the vanilla and chocolate chips.  Just try to resist tasting some of the dough, I dare you.

If you’re adding peanut butter, I would suggest doing it now, at the end; add it a bit at a time and taste along the way until it gets to the level you want.

So, I really like taking pictures of cookie dough.  I don’t know if you could tell.

pumpkin chocolate heaven

Form the cookies into balls and place on a greased cookie sheet.  The recipe says you get 16 large cookies out of it, but I made reasonably-sized cookies (not huge, certainly, but definitely not small) and I got 30 cookies, so go figure.  I’m not complaining.

oh hey, you can see my computer

Bake for 10-15 minutes.  I erred towards the side of 10 minutes and I think they could have used a bit longer in there, so check on them and use your judgment.

so many cookies!

Enjoy!

Tagged: , , , , ,

§ One Response to Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies at Nombudsman.

meta

