Pumpkin Scones

November 1, 2010 § 3 Comments

I love any and every food involving pumpkin.  So whenever fall rolls around, I get really excited, because that means I finally have an excuse to make things with pumpkin (also, pumpkin spice lattes from Starbucks. omg <3).

I bought two cans of pumpkin at the store a few weeks ago and immediately wanted to make pumpkin scones.  I altered the recipe a little because I have to admit that the pumpkin scones I’ve had commercially are a little too sweet for me, which is seriously saying something, so I left off the glaze and I omitted the cinnamon chips.  I also had the thought to add some cocoa powder, but was a bit hesitant because I didn’t want to overpower the pumpkin, so I ended up adding too little.  I’ve included my recommendations for amounts if you want it to actually come through.

Pumpkin Scones
(slightly modified from original recipe here)
2 c all-purpose flour
7 tbsp sugar
1 tbsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
1 tsp ground cinnamon
1/4 tsp ground nutmeg
1/4 tsp ground ginger
6 tbsp cold butter
1/2 c canned pumpkin (NOT pumpkin pie filling! just plain old canned pumpkin)
3 tbsp half-and-half (I used 1% milk and they turned out fine)
1 tsp vanilla extract
1 large egg
1 1/2 tbsp cocoa powder (optional)

Preheat your oven to 425.

Combine the flour, sugar, baking powder, salt, spices, and cocoa powder in a large bowl.

smells like fall

Cut in the cold butter using a pastry cutter (I don’t have one, so I used the method you may recall from this post: a beater from an electric mixer and then a fork when it’s in small enough chunks).  In a separate bowl, whisk together the pumpkin, half-and-half, egg, and vanilla extract until just combined.

so orange! i love it

Fold this pumpkin mixture into the flour mixture gently, and when stirring doesn’t seem to be effective anymore, get in there with your hands to make sure all of the flour is incorporated.  Turn the dough out onto a lightly-floured surface.  Pat it into a roughly ovoid shape; I made mine probably about 1/2 to 3/4 of an inch thick, but you can make it a bit thicker if you want more substantial scones.  I figured I’d probably just be snacking on them instead of eating them for a full-on meal, so I went with slightly smaller ones.

almost scones!

Cut your scones into any shape you like!  I used a biscuit cutter to make circles like I did with the previous scones I made, but then halfway through I realized I could get creative so I made a few hearts as well.

Put the scones on a lightly greased baking sheet and bake them for about 15 minutes.

care package material

Enjoy yourself, or share the lovely autumn-ness of it all and mail a few to someone you love. 🙂

Tagged: , , ,

§ 3 Responses to Pumpkin Scones

  • Theresa says:

    I just baked a lovely batch of these from the pumpkin puree I made from kabocha pumpkins! The batter was suuuppper moist and sticky, though. Perhaps my puree was extra watery? Regardless, they are delish!

    • nombudsman says:

      Yay! Yes, I wouldn’t be surprised if a homemade puree was more watery than storebought. We’ve not found great-looking pumpkins yet, so we’re still holding off on some baking (though I doubt I’ll be able to control myself for much longer around the organic pumpkin puree we bought at the store the other day)… anyway, so glad you enjoyed the scones 🙂

  • […] time recently for baking or trying new fun breakfast or dessert foods.  However, every fall I go a little bit pumpkin crazy.  It’s just been delayed a bit this year because this semester has […]

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Pumpkin Scones at Nombudsman.

meta

