Spinach, Feta, & Bacon Pizza

October 24, 2010 § 2 Comments

Last week I decided that I really wanted pizza.  So, I threw together a dough recipe that I’ve worked with several times before with delicious results (here!), and set it to rise for the requisite two hours.  I came back to check on it… and it had done nothing.  It hadn’t risen one bit.  What??  I thought maybe it was the yeast I’d used; I’d only had it for about a month but figured it could be a fluke bad batch, so the next day I went to the store, got a new jar, threw together another batch of the dough, and, drumroll, same results.  But this time I decided, what the hell, I’ll plastic-wrap it, put it in the fridge, and try to make pizza with it tomorrow just the same.  And, as it turned out, the dough worked just fine, and as an added bonus, I accidentally discovered how to make deep-dish pizza!  My theory is that since the dough didn’t rise, it didn’t get the air into it that it usually does, so it was much denser, and when it cooked it rose some but stayed dense.  Delicious.

(Incidentally, I still don’t know why the dough wouldn’t rise, but it wasn’t my yeast, because I used the same stuff to make bread the same day and it worked beautifully.  If you have any ideas on this, please let me know!)

Feel free to modify the toppings to your tastes!

Spinach, Feta, & Bacon Pizza
Pizza dough sufficient for one pizza (you can use store-bought, or the recipe I linked to above, or your own favorite pizza dough recipe!)
Basic marinara sauce (I used the one from this post, which has shown up previously on this blog; again, you can use store-bought or your own favorite recipe if you prefer)
4 oz crumbled feta cheese (possibly more)
3-4 strips bacon, cooked
6 oz fresh spinach

Before you get started, start your oven preheating to 500 degrees, since it’ll probably take a while.

Roll out your dough.  I like to make a crust by turning over the very edges and crimping them down; it puffs up and browns really nicely when you bake it.

a blank slate

Spread your marinara sauce over the pizza, to whatever thickness you like.  Sprinkle the feta and bacon over the sauce; I ended up supplementing the feta with a little Pecorino Romano that I had sitting in the fridge because the cheese didn’t stretch quite as far as I thought it would, so if you want to err on the safe side, get a larger package of feta in case you end up wanting more than 4 oz.  You can just crumble the bacon evenly over the pizza as you go.

who needs baking?

Honestly I was pretty hungry at this point so I very nearly devoured the thing as it was.  How delicious does that look?!  But no, I had to go through with it, if only for the sake of you, my loyal readership.

When your oven is preheated, put the pizza in for about 12 minutes.  While the pizza is cooking, quickly sauté your spinach in a little olive oil.  This step is optional — I prefer my spinach lightly cooked, but if you want it fresh, go right ahead and put it on the pizza without doing anything to it.

When your pizza is done, pull it out of the oven and top it with the spinach.

*so* good

Let cool as long as you can stand, and then dig in!

accidental deep-dish!

Enjoy!

Tagged: , , , , ,

§ 2 Responses to Spinach, Feta, & Bacon Pizza

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Spinach, Feta, & Bacon Pizza at Nombudsman.

meta

