English Tea Scones

October 3, 2010 § 3 Comments

Last night I came to the unhappy conclusion that there were not enough baked goods in my apartment (despite my boyfriend having sent me a care package of absurdly good cookies last week).  To remedy this, I decided that scones were in order, but I wanted to do more traditional, unfussy, and not-super-sweet ones, a) because of aforementioned cookies satisfying my sweet tooth for the moment and b) because I did not have any fancy ingredients on hand, and I am an impatient person and did not want to pop over to the supermarché down the street.

So, I found these!  They are reasonably quick and pretty darn easy, and also taste quite yummy if I do say so myself.

Scones!
(adapted from recipe that can be found here)
2 c all-purpose flour
1/4 c granulated sugar
2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
1/4 tsp baking soda
4 tbsp COLD unsalted butter
1 egg
2/3 c milk

Preheat your oven to 425 degrees.

Mix together the dry ingredients.

dry ingredients, lookin' pretty

Cut in your cold butter.  I did not have a pastry cutter, so I used one of the beaters from my electric mixer until the chunks of butter were manageable enough, and then I used a fork.  I know you’re jealous of my resourcefulness, it’s okay to admit it.  The flour mixture should vaguely resemble coarse crumbs… I suppose you could say that’s what mine looked like, though it’s something of a loose interpretation of “coarse crumbs.”

crumbs?

In a small bowl, whisk together your egg and your milk.  LOOK AT HOW TINY MY WHISK IS.

tiny whisk!

Add your egg/milk mixture to the flour mixture, and fold that in with a spatula just until the dough pretty much coheres.

mm, dough

Turn it out onto a lightly-floured surface and knead it maybe 6ish times.  Be sure to flour your hands first, because it will be sticky, and while I sort of enjoy gnawing my hands to get scone dough off, I can understand if that’s not for everyone.

kneaded

Pat/gently shape it into a rough circle, about half an inch thick.  Cut out your scones using a biscuit cutter.  Rework scraps as necessary, and when you don’t have enough dough to make another scone, eat the leftovers!

… I admit, getting to eat scone dough scraps may have been a significant motivation in making these in the first place.

scone-shaped

Put them on a greased baking sheet, and pop them into your preheated oven! (You did remember to preheat your oven, didn’t you?) Bake them for about 10 minutes, or until they’re golden-brown.

pre-baking

post-baking

Enjoy warm, with butter and/or jam or, if you’re super English, clotted cream.  Mmm.

scone + coffee

Tagged: , , ,

§ 3 Responses to English Tea Scones

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading English Tea Scones at Nombudsman.

meta

