Jerk Salmon

September 2, 2011 § 1 Comment

E: The summer has pretty much rolled to a close here, though I can assure you it is still warm enough to impersonate July. But September has reached us with alarming alacrity. Joanna is back to school. My birthday is here. And I think it is about time for another tasty recipe. But first, a little reflection is in order.

We are getting close to a busy time of year for annual events. Both our birthdays, and the first year anniversary of the start of this blog, land in the next couple of months, and that’s along with Thanksgiving and the start of the winter holidays. It is weird to think of where I was a year ago, especially as it concerns this blog. Blogging is a good way to remind yourself of past successes and failures, but it is also a good way to learn stuff. With a couple disasters and a couple new techniques under my belt, I am definitely better than I was a year ago. I have learned something. But it isn’t a miraculous elixir, and I’m still frustrated that I’m not better than I am. I’ve decided on a new strategy of reading through things like the Joy of Cooking page by page to try to gain some more kitchen know-how. We’ll see how long I can keep that up. That said, I’ve found the experience so far rather therapeutic, even though it can be frustrating at times. So bear with us as our cooking adventures continue.

this salmon was such a jerk

Now, about this recipe, I have a few other things to say. I’ve eaten salmon literally as long as I can remember. It is delicious and healthy, and probably one of the most responsibly-harvested fish I know of. There are problems of course, but I believe salmon is in less immediate danger than other species such as cod. I tend to look for salmon that’s a deep red color, with minimal fat. Though I often just have it plain (just salt and pepper and some butter or oil), I thought this preparation was fantastic. The rub doesn’t overpower the fish, but gives it some serious flavor and kick.

I made this as an easy, quick meal when I was home visiting my parents. Just make some veggies for a side and you’ve got a tasty meal in under 30 minutes.

Ingredients (recipe from the much-beloved, now-defunct Delicious Wisdom):

1 tsp dried thyme
1 tsp curry powder
1 tsp agave nectar or honey (I used honey)
½ tsp salt
½ tsp dried sage
½ tsp allspice
½ tsp chili powder
¼ tsp cayenne pepper
¼ tsp cinnamon
¼ tsp nutmeg
1 large clove of garlic, minced
1 tbsp olive oil
1 lb fresh salmon (wild caught is best)

The process is really easy. First, mix up everything but the salmon in a small bowl. I put the honey in at the beginning, but it does get difficult to incorporate so maybe try putting it in last, after the oil.

you'll need a lot of spices for this

Mix that together and it’ll turn into a thick, sticky paste. Now get out your salmon and de-bone it if necessary. If your cut doesn’t have skin then proceed however you’d like. If it has skin on one side, this process worked for me. Smear the fleshy side with about half of the rub, making sure to cover it thoroughly, and place the fish skin-side-down onto a hot grill/grill-pan/frying pan. You might need a little oil to keep the skin from sticking, but the oil in the rub should provide enough to keep the other sides from sticking.

"grilling" with the skin down

After 3 minutes or so, you can flip the fish, lift the skin off with a spatula and push it to the side of the pan, and then put the rest of the rub on the other side.

the rest of the rub is now where the skin used to be

Cooking the skin helps to get it off. Once you’ve cooked this side for 3-4 minutes and the fish is looking almost done, flip it over again and quickly sear the rub on what used to be the skin side. Now you’ve got the rub cooked on both sides, and the skin is gone. Easy!

Cut into portions and serve with some veggies and maybe some rice. I hope you like this as much as I do. I am definitely making it again soon. I think it would even be a cool thing to serve at a grilling party, maybe cut into small strips so everyone can have some.

prepared simply, simply delicious

Try it and let us know in the comments what you think.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , ,

§ One Response to Jerk Salmon

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Jerk Salmon at Nombudsman.

meta

